Information about Dominican Republic

Independence date: on February, 27th 1844 (from Haiti)

Official language: Spanish

Capital: Santo-Domingo

Largest cities: Santo-Domingo, Santiago

The form of government: Republic

Territory: 48 730 km²

Population: 9,183,984

Currency: Dominican peso (DOP)

Telephone code: +1-809, 1-829

Time zone: UTC - 4

Dominican Republic Real Estate

Population

In Dominican Republic in July, 2007 lived 9 183 984 persons. On this indicator the country takes 87 place in the world. In a countryside lived 44 % the population, in  Santo-Domingo 56 % the population.

Economy

Country monetary unit is the Dominican peso (DOP). For July, 2008 1 DOP = $0,03. $1 = 34,25 DOP. In 2005 the gain of a gross national product has constituted 9,3 %, the quantity of the taken people has increased by 2,1 %, inflation has decreased from 28,7 % to 7,4 %. These tendencies have amplified in 2006: GNP gain has reached the maximum figure in Latin America &n dash; 10,7 %, and inflation has decreased to 5 %. The national policy and serious structural reforms will be and to accompany further fast entry of Dominican Republic in world market space.
The main trading partner of Dominican Republic are the USA (87 % of export). The country exports the goods produced in free export zones (clothes, footwear), and also nickel, sugar, coffee, cocoa and tobacco; imports a foodstuff, petroleum, raw materials for the industry, the goods of industrial appointment. The volume of direct American investments has constituted in $2004 1 billion Most part of investments has been directed to tourist sector, in free trading zones and in sphere of telecommunications

Climate

Climate marine tropical, passat with small seasonal fluctuations of temperature. It is easy to transfer a heat soft marine breezes and trade winds help. Monthly average temperature of air 25-27С. An average water temperature - 26С. Deposits of 1 000-2 000 mm a year. A season of rains as that is not present, but during the aestivo-autumnal period which there are frequent, but short and harmless downpours.

Holidays


On January, 1st – New Year

On January, 21st – Holiday of Maiden Altagrasii (the sacred patroness of the country);

On February 27st – Independence Day

March-April (date floating) – The Holy Week (a day off &n dash; a Good Friday)

On May, 1st – Day of Work

Thursday in May-June (60 days after Easter, date floating) – Holiday of the Body Christ's

On August, 16th – Day of restoration of Independence

On September, 24th – Day of the Maiden a Mercedes (the sacred patroness of the country)

On December, 25th – Christmas

Краткая информация о Доминиканской Республике

Дата независимости: 27 февраля 1844 (от Гаити)

Официальный язык: Испанский

Столица: Санто-Доминго

Крупнейшие города: Санто-Доминго, Сантьяго

Форма правления: Республика

Территория: 48 730 км²

Население: 9,183,984 чел.

Валюта: Доминиканское песо (DOP)

Телефонный код: +1-809, 1-829

Часовой пояс: UTC -4

Dominican Republic Real Estate

Население

Население Доминиканской Республики в июле 2007 года составляло 9 183 984 человек. По этому показателю страна занимает 87 место в мире. В сельской местности проживало 44 % населения, в городах — 56 % населения.

Экономика

Денежной единицей страны является доминиканское песо (DOP). На июль 2008 года 1 DOP = $0,03. $1 = 34,25 DOP. В 2005 году прирост валового национального продукта составил 9,3%, количество занятых людей увеличилось на 2,1%, инфляция снизилась с 28,7% до 7,4%. Эти тенденции усилились в 2006 году: прирост ВНП достиг максимальной цифры в Латинской Америке – 10,7%, а инфляция снизилась до 5%. Национальная политика и серьезные структурные реформы будут и в дальнейшем сопровождать быстрое вхождение Доминиканской Республики в мировое рыночное пространство. Экономика страны верно и уверенно в последние годы показывает темпы роста.

Главным торговым партнером Доминиканской Республики являются США (87% экспорта). Страна экспортирует товары, изготовленные в свободных экспортных зонах (одежду, обувь), а также никель, сахар, кофе, какао и табак; импортирует продукты питания, нефть, сырье для промышленности, товары производственного назначения. Объем прямых американских инвестиций составил в 2004 году $1 млрд. Большая часть инвестиций была направлена в туристический сектор, в свободные торговые зоны и в сферу телекоммуникаций.

Климат

Климат морской тропический, пассатный с небольшими сезонными колебаниями температуры. Легко переносить жару помогают мягкие морские бризы и пассаты. Среднемесячная температура воздуха 25-27С. Средняя температура воды - 26С. Осадков 1 000-2 000 мм в год. Сезона дождей, как такового нет, но в летне-осенний период который бывают частые, но короткие и безобидные ливни.

Праздничные дни

Праздничные дни в Доминиканской Республике, как правило, являются выходными днями.

1 января – Новый Год
21 января – Праздник Девы Альтаграсии (святой покровительницы страны);
27 февраля – День Независимости
Март-апрель (дата плавающая) – Страстная Неделя (нерабочий день – Великая Пятница)
1 мая – День Труда
Четверг в мае-июне (60 дней после Пасхи, дата плавающая) – Праздник Тела Христова
16 августа – День восстановления Независимости
24 сентября – День Девы Мерседес (святой покровительницы страны)
25 декабря – Рождество